Nominations Now Open For The WAN-IFRA Women In News Editorial Leadership Award 2022

WAN-IFRA Women in News launches the call for nominations for its 2022 edition of News Editorial Leadership Award. This award recognises an exemplary contribution of an editor to her newsroom and under her leadership, the contribution of her newspaper to society. One outstanding editor from sub-Saharan Africa, one from the Arab region and one from Southeast Asia will be named Laureates in 2022. The Laureates will be honoured at the WAN-IFRA World News Media Congress 2022 in Zaragoza, Spain.

The Laureate will possess a proven track record of success within her newsroom, have demonstrated uncompromising editorial integrity throughout her career, and have a strong commitment to the principles of press freedom and its power to promote democracy and good governance. They have a demonstrated commitment to gender equality, mentoring and lifting up their members of staff while building an organisational culture that embraces equality. Over the past years, 12 exemplary editors from Africa, the Arab Region, and Southeast Asia were awarded the WIN Editorial Leadership Award.

The deadline for nominations is 23 May, 2022.

Eligible nominees must hold a senior editorial role as of 1 January 2022. News media (newspapers, magazines and digital-only) of all sizes from the sub-Saharan Africa, the Arab Region and Southeast Asia are encouraged to submit a nomination.

Laureates of this award in the past years are:

Africa: Edyth Kambalame, Editor, Nation on Sunday, Malawi (2021); Mary Mbewe, Executive Editor, Daily Nation, Zambia (2020); Anna Nimiriano, Editor-in-chief, Juba Monitor, South Sudan (2019); Barbara Kaija, Group Editor-in-chief, New Vision, Uganda (2018); Pamella Sittoni, Executive Editor, The Daily Nation Nation Media Group, Kenya (2017); Oluwatoyosi Ogunseye, Editor, Sunday Punch, Nigeria (2014).

Arab Region: Samia Nakhoul, Middle East Editor, Thomson Reuters, Lebanon (2021); Etaf Roudan, Director, Radio al-Balad, Jordan (2020); Acil Tabbara, Senior Editor, L’Orient Le Jour, Lebanon (2019); Noura al-Hourani, Arabic Managing Editor, Syria Direct, Syria (2018); Karima Kamal, Coloumnist, Contributing Editor, Al Masry Al Youm, Egypt (2017).

Southeast Asia: Nyein Nyein Naing, Former Editor-in-Chief, 7Day Digital, Myanmar (2021).

You can read laureates’ bios here.

For nomination form in Englishclick here.

For nomination form in Arabicclick here.

For nomination form in Vietnameseclick here.

For nomination form in Myanmarclick here.

For nomination form in Bahasaclick here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *