Nominations now open for the WAN-IFRA Women In News Editorial Leadership Award 2021

WAN-IFRA Women in News launches the call for nominations for its 2021 edition of News Editorial Leadership Award. This award recognises an exemplary contribution of an editor to her newsroom and under her leadership, the contribution of her newspaper to society. One outstanding editor from sub-Saharan Africa, one from the Arab region and one from Southeast Asia will be named Laureates in 2021.

The Laureate will possess a proven track record of success within her newsroom, have demonstrated uncompromising editorial integrity throughout her career, and have a strong commitment to the principles of press freedom and its power to promote democracy and good governance. They have a demonstrated commitment to gender equality, mentoring and lifting up their members of staff while building an organisational culture that embraces equality. Over the past years, 9 exemplary editors from Africa and the Arab region were awarded the WIN Editorial Leadership Award. This year, we introduce this award in Southeast Asia too.

The deadline for nominations is 12 October 2021.

Eligible nominees must hold a senior editorial role as of 1 January 2021. News media (newspapers, magazines and digital-only) of all sizes from the sub-Saharan Africa, the Arab Region and Southeast Asia are encouraged to submit a nomination.

Winners of this award in the past years are:

Africa: Mary Mbewe, Executive Editor, Daily Nation, Zambia (2020); Anna Nimiriano, Editor-in-chief, Juba Monitor, South Sudan (2019); Barbara Kaija, Group Editor-in-chief, New Vision, Uganda (2018); Pamella Sittoni, Executive Editor, The Daily Nation Nation Media Group, Kenya (2017); Oluwatoyosi Ogunseye, Editor, Sunday Punch, Nigeria (2014).

Arab region: Etaf Roudan, Director, Radio al-Balad, Jordan (2020); Acil Tabbara, Senior Editor, L’Orient Le Jour, Lebanon (2019); Noura al-Hourani, Arabic Managing Editor, Syria Direct, Syria (2018); Karima Kamal, Coloumnist, Contributing Editor, Al Masry Al Youm, Egypt (2017).

You can read laureates’ bio here.

For nomination form in English, click here.

For nomination form in Arabic, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *